About

Hi All! My name is Emily and I am a 27 year old engineer in the aviation industry.  In my spare time, I am a krav maga instructor. In case you’re wondering what the hell that is, it’s an Israeli military style of self defense. I very strongly believe that everyone, especially women, should be able to hold their own.  This statement works for both physical abilities and finances. Boom. Double meaning.

My lovely wife of 6 weeks (It’s going great. Thanks for asking), Kayla, is 27 and working as a nanny, and currently working on starting her own side hustle.  I’m really excited to see where this goes for her and will keep you all up to date on her greatness.

Together we are striving to achieve Financial independence (FI) through a combination of 401K, Roth IRAs, HSA and Vanguard index funds.  We’re saving a bit over 50% of our income currently and are planning on being ‘retired’ by 40.  Depending on how things go, we can pull the trigger before then, but we’ll have to wait and see.

I’m a firm believer that FI is a completely realistic goal, despite what my coworkers and family may say.  Meanwhile, they’re spending money on SUVs while having issues paying off their credit card debt and not being able to see the causality. Mind. Blown. So, I started this blog to document our journey and show that it is not only a possibility, but  it’s completely achievable… for ANYONE.

So, come along with us as we try to figure it out and have a lot of fun along the way. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy!

Also, here is a picture of my dog/ love of my life (don’t tell my wife):Blog Photo- Gino1